Hockey Women’s World Cup 2022: The Dates Are Revealed of 2022!

Jeremy Caroll

The 2022 Women’s FIH Hockey International Cup will be the 15th edition of the International Hockey Federation’s quadrennial world championship for women’s national field hockey teams. Accessed July 1, 2022, Terrassa (Spain) et Amstelveen (Netherlands).

Host selection

Both July 2022 and January 2023 have been selected as possible dates by the International Ice Hockey Federation (FIH) for their 2022 World Cup competitions. The final five proposals for the Women’s World Cup in 2022 were received by the FIH from the following countries. Spain and the Netherlands were announced as the countries hosting the 2022 World Cup in November of that year.

hockey women's world cup 2022

1–17 July 2022 is the preferred date range for this project.

Spain and the Netherlands


The event will include 16 teams, the same as it did in 2018. It is expected that the five continental winners, namely Spain, the Netherlands, and Spain, would all gain automatic qualification. There was a rise from six to sixteen slots available through continental championships, which included the World Cup hosts when the 2020 Summer Olympics were postponed.

READ MORE: Spin Bowlers: What Is Spinning, and Who Are the Top Ten Players of All Time?


All Hockeyroos pool games and finals in Spain will be included in our tour. With no games scheduled between 7 and 12 July if Australia’s hockey team wins their pool, fans will have time to travel across Spain or perhaps outside (to Madrid, Valencia, Bilbao, and other locales) (Portugal, France, etc).

Of course, if the Hockeyroos finish second or third in their group, fans can stay in Barcelona to attend more games of other teams and perhaps the Hockeyroos cross-over game on July 10th.

  • Fri 1 July. Arrive. Opening Games. Welcome Function
  • Sat 2 July. Game 1 HOCKEYROOS v JAPAN
  • Sun 3 July. Free day. Sightseeing, additional WC matches
  • Mon 4 July. Free day. Sightseeing, additional WC matches
  • Tues 5 July. Game 2. HOCKEYROOS v BELGIUM
  • Wed 6 July. Game 3. HOCKEYROOS v SOUTH AFRICA
  • Thurs 7 – Tues 12 July. Tour options (Madrid, Portugal, France, etc)
  • Wed 13 July. QUARTERFINALS
  • Thurs 14 July. Free day, sightseeing
  • Fri 15 July. Free day, sightseeing
  • Sat 16 July. SEMIFINALS
  • Sun 17 July. WORLD CUP FINALS. Final night social event
  • Mon 18 July. Depart Barcelona

The Women’s Hockey World Cup Will Be Held in Which Country in 2022?

The 15th edition of the Women’s FIH Hockey International Cup will take place in 2022, the International Hockey Federation’s quadrennial world championship for women’s national field hockey teams. 1 to 17 July 2022 will see it take place in Spain and in the Netherlands.

What Is the Entire Name of the FIH?

Field hockey and indoor field hockey are governed by the Fédération Internationale de Hockey (English: International Hockey Federation), generally known by the name FIH. Lausanne, Switzerland serves as the company’s headquarters.

What Year Was the First World Cup for Women’s Ice Hockey?

Hockey’s most prestigious women’s competition is the IIHF World Women’s Championship (WW or WWC). The International Ice Hockey Federation governs it (IIHF). 1990 was the first official world championship, followed by four additional tournaments in the 1990s.

Who Was the Champion of the 2021 Hockey Cup?

A silver medal was awarded to the U.S. Women’s National Team in the IIHF Women’s World Championship in 2021. All 31 games of the championship will be held at the WinSport Arena at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, Alberta.

hockey women's world cup 2022

From May 6 to 16, 2021, Halifax and Truro, Nova Scotia hosted the event. It was postponed by the IIHF and Hockey Canada on April 21 because of safety concerns related to COVID-19. The COVID-19 outbreak forced the cancellation of the 2020 championship.

READ MORE: Cricket ICC Women: The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 Schedule Has Been Announced!

All 20 of the IIHF Women’s World Championships have seen the U.S. go to the finals, earning gold in five of the previous six events (2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019). Aside from that, the United States has won eight of the previous ten IIHF Women’s World Championships championship titles.

IIHF Women’s World Championship 2021

When it was held in Calgary, Alberta from August 20 to August 31, the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship was an international ice hockey competition organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). In the first place, it was supposed to take place in Halifax and Truro in Nova Scotia.  IIHF Women’s World Championship Top Division was held for the twentieth time.

After the Top Division event and both Division, I tournaments in 2020 were canceled owing to the COVID-19 epidemic, there was no divisional promotion or relegation.

hockey women's world cup 2022

On March 4, the competition was postponed to May 6-16, 2021, from April 7-17, as originally planned.

In an email to Hockey Canada and the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) on April 21, 2021, the Province of Nova Scotia told them that the event had been canceled “because of concerns regarding safety issues related to COVID-19.”

Both the IIHF and Hockey Canada have pledged to investigate all options for moving the tournament to a new Canadian location for the summer of 2021, according to a joint statement. Reiterating the point made by IIHF President René Fasel: “This does not rule out a Women’s World Championship in 2021. Because this event was so eagerly anticipated by so many players, we must do all in our power to guarantee it can be rescheduled and played this year.” The IIHF confirmed the dates of the tournament on April 30, 2021. It will take place from August 20 through August 31, 2021.  The WinSport Arena in Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, Alberta, was officially named on June 2, 2021.

The competition was held in secret.

READ MORE: USC Football Championship: Who Is the Best USC Football Player?

After beating the United States in the championship game, Canada claimed its eleventh title in the tournament.

Finland defeated Switzerland to claim the bronze medal.

Leave a Comment