FIFA World Cup 2022: All You Need to Know

Jeremy Caroll

The Fifa World Cup 2022 will be held in Qatar from November 21 to December 18. In eight groups, 32 teams will compete. On the first day of the tournament, England will face Iran. Germany and Spain formed a group. From important dates to kickoff times, we’ve got you covered. Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament this year.

fifa world cup 2022

When and Where Will the Fifa World Cup 2022 Be Held?

The Qatar Fifa World Cup 2022 begins on Monday, November 21. Senegal will play the Netherlands in Group A at the Al Thumama Stadium. The hosts, Qatar, will then face Ecuador at the Al Bayt Stadium. England’s Group B match against Iran will also occur on the first day. It is set to take place just eight days after the Premier League shuts its doors.

Were Wales or Scotland to reach the finals through the playoffs. In Group B, they would face England on Tuesday, November 29. The final will be held at Doha’s Lusail Stadium. On Sunday, December 18, one week before Christmas.

So Far, Who Has Qualified?

The names of 29 of the 32 countries. Who will compete in the tournament is now known? As the tournament’s hosts. Qatar received automatic qualification for the following year’s tournament. Four-time World Cup champions Germany was the first team to compete. To secure a place in Europe’s qualification process.

On the other hand, Brazil is the most successful national team in World Cup history. It has won five titles. It qualified as one of the top four teams in each of South America’s groups. England qualified for the November tournament by finishing first in their qualifying group. For the second time, Canada qualified for the World Cup finals. In addition, they defeated Jamaica 4-0 to secure their ticket to Qatar. And put an end to 36 years of heartbreak and failure.

Read also: American Football : Rules, Scores ,Players , Goal and Gear

Mexico and the United States were also invited to compete in the Fifa World Cup 2022. Senegal, Ghana, Tunisia, Morocco, and Cameroon will compete in their final qualifier. These were some of the last countries to reserve their spots for Qatar Fifa World Cup 2022. Portugal and Poland advanced to the finals in Europe. After defeating North Macedonia and Sweden in their respective playoff finals. The third and final European playoff round. The match will pit Wales against either Scotland or Ukraine. It has been postponed until June.

Who Will Be the Last Three Nations to Qualify?

Wales, Scotland, and Ukraine will compete in the World Cup as playoff winners. Meanwhile, the intercontinental playoffs will be held in Qatar on June 13-14. The two remaining spots will be filled by Australia, the United Arab Emirates, Peru, and either Costa Rica or New Zealand.

fifa world cup 2022

UEFA and Intercontinental playoffs

  • Wales vs. Scotland or Ukraine
  • Australia or the United Arab Emirates vs. Peru
  • Costa Rica vs. New Zealand

Read also: Do You Want To Know History of Italy National Football Team?

Because Scotland and Wales have been thrown together. It means that Scotland and Wales will face off for a spot in next year’s World Cup. If Scotland defeats Ukraine in their postponed playoff semi-final.

What Are the World Cup Groupings?

The Fifa World Cup 2022 will begin with 32 teams divided into eight groups of four:

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Iran, USA, Ukraine/Scotland/Wales
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group D: France, Australia/UAE/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Belgium, Ghana, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Canada, Uruguay, South Korea

What Is the Format and Schedule for the World Cup?

During the group stage, four matches will be played each day. It will take place over 12 days. With winners and runners-up progressing to the round of 16.

Read also: USC Football Championship: Who Is the Best USC Football Player?

Unlike at Euro 2020, a third-place playoff game will be held on December 17.

Round of 16

Saturday, December 3

49 – Winners of Group A vs. Runners-up of Group B (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 3 pm)

50 – Winners of Group C vs. Runners-up of Group D (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 7 pm)

Sunday, December 4

52 – Winners of Group D vs. Runners-up of Group C (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; kickoff 3 pm)

51 – Winners of Group B vs. Runners-up of Group A (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 7 pm)

Monday, December 5

53 – Winners of Group E vs. Runners-up of Group F (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 3 pm)

54 – Winners of Group G vs. Runners-up of Group H (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 7 pm)

Tuesday, December 6

55 – Winners of Group F vs. Runners-up of Group E (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 3 pm)

56 – Winners of Group H vs. Runners-up of Group G (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 7 pm)

fifa world cup 2022


Friday, December 9

58 – Winners of 53 vs. Winners of 54 (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 3 pm)

57 – Winners of 49 vs. Winners of 50 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 3 pm)

Saturday, December 10

60 – Winners of 55 vs. Winners of 56 (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; kickoff 3 pm)

59 – Winners of 51 vs. Winners of 52 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 7 pm)


Tuesday, December 13

61 – Winners of 57 vs. Winners of 58 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 7 pm)

Wednesday, December 14

62 – Winners of 59 vs. Winners of 60 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 7 pm)

Saturday, December 17

63 – Third place playoff – Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 3 pm


Sunday, December 18

64 – The World Cup final – Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 3 pm

When Will the Games Begin?

FIFA has confirmed that the first two rounds of matches will begin at 1 p.m., 4 p.m., 7 p.m., and 10 p.m. local time (10 am, 1 pm, 4 pm, and 7 pm in the United Kingdom). Kickoff times for the final round of group games and knockout games. It will take place at 6 p.m. and 10 p.m. local time (3 pm and 7 pm UK time). The final is set to begin at 6 p.m. local time (3 pm UK time).

What Are the Locations?

The group games will be held at the following venues: Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, Ras Abu Aboud Stadium, Education City Stadium, and Al Janoub Stadium.


The Premier League has announced key dates for the upcoming Fifa World Cup 2022. With the season shifted to accommodate a World Cup in the middle of the domestic calendar. On August 6, 2022, the season will begin a week earlier than usual. Furthermore, 16 matchdays will be held up until the weekend of November 12/13. Before the tournament begins on November 21.

 Following the World Cup final, the Premier League will resume on Boxing Day. It is scheduled for December 18. On May 28, 2023, the final match round of the Fifa World Cup 2022 will be played.

Leave a Comment