How the FIFA World Cup Qualifying Process Works for the European Union?

Jeremy Caroll

The play-offs for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are presently underway, following the conclusion of the group stage of the European Qualifiers, which saw ten nations qualify directly for the tournament. We take a look at the current state of affairs and what issues need to be handled.

europe world cup qualifiers

European Qualifiers for the World Cup

Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, and Switzerland were all qualified as group champions.

North Macedonia, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Sweden, Ukraine, and Wales are among the teams competing in the play-offs.

Austria*, Czech Republic*, Italy, and Turkey were all eliminated in the play-offs.

*Eligible for the play-offs based on their position in the UEFA Nations League rankings.


How the European Union’s World Cup Qualification Process Works

Qualifying on a direct basis

The top 10 finishers in each group have qualified for the 2022 World Cup, which will be held in Qatar from November 21 to December 18, 2022.


The play-offs will determine which teams will qualify for the final three World Cup slots. The World Cup draw will take held in Doha, Qatar, on Friday, April 1st at 15:00 local time.

Semi-finals will take place on Thursday, March 24, 2022.

Path A: Wales defeats Austria 2-1.
Path B: Sweden defeats the Czech Republic 1-0. (aet)
Path C: Italy defeats North Macedonia 1-0 and Portugal defeats Turkey 3-1.

Semi-finals have been postponed till a later date to be determined.

Scotland vs Ukraine is the first step on the road to victory.

Finals will be held on Tuesday, March 29, 2022.
Path B involves Poland taking on Sweden.
Against North Macedonia, Portugal is on the third path.

Final – postponed till a later date to be determined
A route that goes through Wales against Scotland / Ukraine.

All confirmed kick-offs will take place at 20:45 CET.

Ronaldo and Bale are in action in the World Cup play-off semi-finals.

The top international scorers from Europe are as follows: Cristiano Ronaldo is in the lead.
UEFA Nations League group winners are ranked according to where they will be watching European Qualifiers for the World Cup (highest two finishing outside top two in qualifying group enter play-offs)

League A: France is first, Spain is second, Italy is third, and Belgium is fourth.

League B 5 Wales 6 Austria 7 Czech Republic 8 Hungary* League B 5 Wales 6 Austria 7 Czech Republic 8 Hungary*

10 Montenegro 11 Albania 12 Armenia* League C 9 Slovenia 10 Montenegro 11 Albania 12 Armenia*

League D:13 Gibraltar*
14 Faroe Islands*

The teams in bold made it into the play-offs by this path.

Teams in italics finished in the top two of their respective qualifying groups. *Teams that did not finish in the top two of their respective qualifying groups or qualify for the play-offs based on their UEFA Nations League ranking.

This material is provided solely for informational purposes, and all information is subject to final confirmation by FIFA. The official regulations contain comprehensive information on how to do qualifying works.

Which teams will be included in the World Cup draw in 2022? The complete list of countries, pots, seeds, and FIFA rankings can be found below.

The countdown to the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022 has begun. Drawing for the championship tournament will take place on April 1, about seven months before the event’s start date on November 21.

The tournament will last for around a month, with the final taking place on Sunday, December 18 at the Lusail Stadium, as is typical. The 32 teams competing will all be hoping to make it through the six rounds leading up to the championship final and become the first team to dethrone France as world champions since 1998.

europe world cup qualifiers

This year’s edition will not only be the first to be held in the Middle East, but it will also be the final one to be held under the present structure before the tournament is enlarged to 48 teams for the 2026 edition.

As a result of the schedule chaos caused by COVID-19, three slots in the field of 32 will be chosen in June, a few months after the group-stage draw was conducted on April 1.

When Will the World Cup Draw Take Place in 2022?

The World Cup draw for the year 2022 will take place on April 1 in Doha, Qatar.

By that point, 29 of the 32 countries will have been determined, with three spots remaining open until the end of June to be claimed.

The two FIFA intercontinental playoffs, as well as the playoff final for the final berth allocated to Europe, will all take place in the month of June. That winner-take-all encounter will be played in Wales, with the winner facing either Scotland or Ukraine.

Which Teams will be Included in the World Cup 2022 Draw?

Qatar, who are hosting the competition, is one of 19 teams who have already confirmed their participation. Holders France, the tournament’s champion in 2018, is among those who have already qualified for the tournament.

A total of ten additional seats will be claimed around the world between March 24 and March 30, with five in Africa, three in North America, and two in Europe.

Who has a Chance to Qualify for the World Cup in 2022?

There are still 36 countries in the world that can qualify for the Qatar 2022 World Cup. At the end of March, they’ll be slugging it out for the majority of the remaining berths.

What is the Procedure for the World Cup 2022 Draw?

The 32 teams that qualify will be divided into four pots based on the FIFA world rankings, which were released on March 31 and will be announced on April 1. There will be a placeholder in place of the three positions that have not yet been determined.

As is traditional at the FIFA World Cup, the hosts Qatar will be assigned to Group A, where they will automatically join the other seven best-ranked teams in the world as one of the top seeds.


europe world cup qualifiers

Groups A through H will be divided into eight groups of four teams each (one team from each of the four pots). The teams will be divided into four groups of four teams each.

Because there are 13 spaces allocated to European nations, no group can have more than one team from each area, with the exception of Europe (UEFA), which has a maximum restriction of two European teams each group due to the 13 spots available.

Leave a Comment